•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron 102GT

Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ke0ncp

ke0ncp

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 April 2021 - 05:25 PM

Hi all! I am a complete astronomy noob and with the help of someone that has a little more experience I landed myself a Celestron 102GT for my first telescope. I have lots to learn and am very excited about the process.

The question I have is using a rs232 to usb cable what control software am I able to use?

I understand I might need to upgrade firmware and drivers like the ascom or whatever they are.

Not looking for what the best software out there is as that can be a sticky one, just what software is actually compatible.

I’ve searched and searched the past few days and have not really come to a firm conclusion.

Also if this is not posted in the right sub forum please move or remove and notify me.

Thanks!
Matt

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 Bean614

Bean614

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Mass.

Posted 22 April 2021 - 05:55 PM

Depending on the year of the Nexstar GT Mount, the easiest system would be adding either a SkyPortal or SkyFi (highly recommended! ) Adapter to the Mount --- attaches to the Hand Controller--- and using SkySafari to control your mount from your phone or tablet. 

#3 ke0ncp

ke0ncp

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 April 2021 - 06:08 PM

Thanks for the response Bean. So looking at the SkyPortal it doesn’t mention the GT at all.

From what I’m understanding it was made between 2012 and 2014.

For the SkyPortal would I also need the splitter or would it just plug directly into the hand held?

Thanks again!

#4 sunrag

sunrag

Viking 1

• Loc: Carmel, Indiana

Posted 22 April 2021 - 07:34 PM