•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Difference between Bortle 2 and 1

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Jsg

Jsg

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Northern Sierra Mountains, 4,000 ft.

Posted 26 April 2021 - 09:10 AM

I suppose I am very fortunate to be in a location described as Bortle class 2, in the California Northern Sierra Mountains. I'm a newbie with a 12" Dobson. I would not have to drive far to get to campgrounds shown as Bortle 1 on the maps. Not that I'm dissatisfied with the good seeing I have at home, but just wondering from a technical standpoint, would I see a noticeable difference in a Bortle 1 location? I'll post lat and long for two different locations if someone wants to slice the numbers. My main interest is DSOs- nebulae and galaxies. Worth the 2-1/2 hour drive to get out of my horribly light polluted Bortle 2 location?

#2 alphatripleplus

alphatripleplus

World Controller

• Moderators
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 26 April 2021 - 09:31 AM

I wish I had first had experience to answer this question, but it has been a long time since I last experienced Bortle 2 skies, and I don't ever recall being  under Bortle 1 skies.

#3 Traveler

Traveler

Soyuz

• Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 26 April 2021 - 09:42 AM

I think the difference between the two situations is quite noticeable. However, when i can choose between Bortle 2 at high altitude and Bortle 1 on less high altitude i would choose for the Bortle 2....

But hey, i would be very very happy with a Bortle 2 sky anyway...cool.gif

The best skies i ever saw was in Nepal at 5500m Bortle 1...but there on that altitude it was so cold and i was already so tired after weeks of hiking and other things that i was not able to enjoy the sky...