•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

observing chairs

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 mark david

mark david

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 May 2021 - 10:08 AM

I'm a pretty good woodworker...... but by the time i figured out the price for decent multi-ply (Baltic Birch etc...) plywood, poly, time etc. the cost of materials wouldn't be much lower than the cost of a ready made metal observing chair such as that from Orion or Highpoint Scientific.

Could anyone recommend a ready made chair they've been happy with.  

Vesti makes a few at a lower price..

I have a 10" F/5 reflector.  May be getting a 12" before too long.

Thanks for your time.

Mark

#2 Oyaji

Oyaji

Mariner 2

• Loc: Central Illinois, USA

Posted 03 May 2021 - 10:18 AM

Nadira!  https://www.geoptik....&product_id=928

And you could probably make your own copy of this minimalist design.  

• MarMax likes this

#3 BoldAxis1967

BoldAxis1967

Apollo

• Loc: Kentucky

Posted 03 May 2021 - 10:22 AM

Starbound.

I have been using the Starbound chair for 8-9 years.  Easy to use, comfortable and has a good range of positions. I have found it very stable.  I use it with all of my scopes including a 10 inch F/5 Zhumell.

Check around for best pricing.  I think they are going between $180-200. If you decide on one I suggest you get the white version, easier to see at night.

L.

Edited by BoldAxis1967, 03 May 2021 - 10:27 AM.

• Jon Isaacs, Knasal, vdog and 1 other like this

#4 Dynan

Dynan

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: NOLA

Posted 03 May 2021 - 10:25 AM

This one for $180 surprised me with its stability and balance, even at high range.

https://www.amazon.c...e?ie=UTF8&psc=1

• paul hart, Pete W, brentknight and 1 other like this

#5 jcj380

jcj380

Vanguard

• Loc: Hellinois

Posted 03 May 2021 - 11:17 AM