•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help, Meade Series 6000 80 mm APO Triplet + ASTRO-TECH 0.8X REDUCER/FIELD FLATTENER

Accessories Astrophotography Beginner Equipment Meade Refractor
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AstronomyDG

AstronomyDG

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 May 2021 - 03:08 PM

Hello, a little while back I got myself a Meade Series 6000 80mm APO Triplet. I am new to astrophotography and shortly after I ordered my scope I learned what a field flattener was, so I went to buy the dedicated flattener for my scope only to realize it was discontinued... So I did some reading around and decided to get myself the ASTRO-TECH 0.8X REDUCER/FIELD FLATTENER as it is made for a scope with the same specs as mine. I got the flattener in the mail the other day and went to go thread it into the draw tube of the scope but quickly realized that it simply does not fit. So my question is, am I missing something? An adapter maybe or is this flattener just not right for my scope? Any insight is incredibly helpful as this has been the only thing on my mind for the last week. If anyone is using a different flattener that works with their Meade Series 6000 Apo Triplet please let me know.

Meade Series 6000 80mm Apo Triplet - https://optcorp.com/...AyABEgJ2WPD_BwE

ASTRO-TECH 0.8X REDUCER/FIELD FLATTENER - https://www.astronom...-refractor.html

#2 Andynator

Andynator

Mariner 2

• Loc: West Central Ohio, USA

Posted 05 May 2021 - 03:25 PM

I've had these on order for months, so I'm curious about the outcome. Just tight a fit is it? Off by fractions or a large amount?

#3 AstronomyDG

AstronomyDG

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 May 2021 - 03:42 PM

I've had these on order for months, so I'm curious about the outcome. Just tight a fit is it? Off by fractions or a large amount?