•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginners Advice Needed

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Mr Smith

Mr Smith

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Speldhurst

Posted 06 May 2021 - 09:45 AM

Hi Peeps,

I am completely new to photography and have just bought some second hand kit to get me started. See Below.

Panasonic GX1 Lumix 

Samyang 12m F2

7Artisans 7.5mm F2.8

Skywatcher Star Adventurer Mini

Ball mount

TRipod 

Cheap Ebay lens heater

I aim to get to know my camera in the day but will predominantly use it for astro work. My first goal is Milky Way/Landscape shots.

So my first question question is what Iso/exposure and amount of shots would you take on your first few outings.

I have been researching lots of great images on Instagram and I notice how much difference there is in Exposure Time/Iso/Number of shots (For Stacking). 

So I am all set up and the conditions are perfect.... What combinations of shots would you make?

ie

5 x 5sec at 1600 iso

10 x 5sec at 1600 iso

5 x 10 sec at ............. etc etc the combinations are numerous and I know conditions/kit will play a big factor but just need a guide of where to start so I can find out what works best for my kit.

Any help much appreciated!

#2 Idkwhatsgoingon

Idkwhatsgoingon

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 06 May 2021 - 08:57 PM

Hi, I also sort of new to this! Check out Nebula Photos on youtube, he has full guides for imaging galaxies and nebulae and processing them in software like gimp and Siril which are free.

• Mr Smith likes this

#3 galacticinsomnia

galacticinsomnia

Apollo

• Loc: Pacific Northwest - Oregon

Posted 06 May 2021 - 10:15 PM

Hi Peeps,

I am completely new to photography and have just bought some second hand kit to get me started. See Below.

Panasonic GX1 Lumix 

Samyang 12m F2

7Artisans 7.5mm F2.8