•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Absolute Beginner - Zhumell Z130 vs Orion Starblast II 4.5

Beginner Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Simebaby

Simebaby

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 May 2021 - 03:33 PM

Hi All

Sorry for any daft questions - I’m a complete beginner to this.

I’m looking to get a scope primarily for my 12-year old daughter (but for me as well). As kids do have a tendency to lose interest in things, I’m after something that’s easy to use and around the £200 or under mark - but good enough to actually present a little bit of “wow” factor - so something that will at least give a good view of the closer planets - Mars, banding on Jupiter, Saturn’s rings etc.

I’ve done some reading and narrowed it down to the Zhumell Z130 and the Starblast 4.5. The main thing is whilst I can find plenty of info and reviews on the Orion, I can’t really find much around the Zhumell, which looks to be the better scope on paper - Dob rather than EQ which I’m guessing will be easier for a beginner (and a 12-year old), larger apature etc. I expect we’ll be looking at better eyepieces, a Barlow etc etc as we get more experienced.

Am I on completely the wrong lines with these two? Anyone out there with the Zhumell who can report on performance, usability etc?

TIA

Si

• sevenofnine and Jay6879 like this

#2 rhetfield

rhetfield

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Suburban Chicago, IL, USA

Posted 07 May 2021 - 03:56 PM

The dob would be easier to use than the EQ.  It will also be much easier for a kid to carry arround and set up.

More importantly, the zhumell is an F5 scope.  That means that it is easier to collimate and focus and will perform better at higher magnifications.  It will give much better planetary views as a result.