•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Please Help with NEW ROKINON 135mm f/2.0

Astrophotography Beginner DSLR Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 CaptainRMWExplorer

CaptainRMWExplorer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 May 2021 - 11:23 AM

Hi, I’m new to cloudy nights. My name is Kat but growing into CaptainRWMExplorer.

Anyways, I recently got my Rokinon 135mm f/2.0 and I have no clue how to get my star to be points! And I’m having a hard time getting the Exposure and ISO right for Nebulea and Galaxies. Specifically Owl Nebula, Bode’s Galaxy, and the Orion Nebula.

Equipment:

• Sky Watcher Star Adventurer 2ii

• Canon T3i unmodified (I know. “Get A Full Frame!!”)

• Rokinon 135mm F/2.0

• Introvelometer

I started with the canon rebel Ti and Tamron 18-200mm 3.5-5.6. So this is a BIG upgrade. For me.

ROKINON:
I have polar alignment down pack, but the stars still look like unfinished circles. I set it to all the way infinity but it still looked weird. When I did put it a little before infinity the stars sort of looked better.

Where should I set the focus to get point stars? Are there any methods to get my stars to be points and not weird rings or bloated stars? What is the best F stop?

CANON T3i:

I have used SO many different exposure, ISO, and camera settings and all I am able to see is stars. Or it’s over exposed and I see the brightness of my light polluted sky.

What settings should I use with this set up? 

Is the Owl Nebula, Bode’s Galaxy, and Orion Nebula bright enough for my Rokinon Lens to see? 

I know it can be done but I’m struggling. YouTube videos don’t explain everything. Can anyone please help me?

Pictures are in my gallery titled: Struggling Astro Images

Edited by CaptainRMWExplorer, 08 May 2021 - 11:42 AM.

#2 Houthans

Houthans

Lift Off

• -----