•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

6" f/7.9 - My first build

ATM DIY Dob Equipment Mirror Making Optics Reflector
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 BenF

BenF

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sacramento, California

Posted 08 May 2021 - 07:40 PM

I started a topic a week or two ago with some questions, and thanks to people's answers I have since started this project in earnest.

As an introduction to this project: I originally was thinking of making a 8" f/8 or a 6" f/10, and was very generously offered a 6" Astrositall blank for free. The blank was already ground and polished to f/7.9, which changed my plans a bit, but I couldn't turn the offer down. I considered grinding it down to f/10, but felt I could still make it work at f/7.9, and all I had to do was figure it. I work as an optician, so the equipment and materials are all there, and my boss (the same person who gave me the blank) has let me work on my own projects after hours. So for the past couple of weeks I have gone in on Saturdays to work on the mirror, and after ~8 hours of careful work, the mirror is done (most likely). I have also started to design the structure in AutoCAD (yet again, this is a situation where I know someone who has access to it, and is generous enough to let me use it). I've run into a few issues with the design of the structure, but I think I'll eventually work them all out.

As for the mirror, here is the FigureXP plot after the last round of figuring:

Capture3467.PNG

Here is the best-fit conic, you can see it's slightly hyperbolic, but there are almost no zones:

Capture23468.PNG

ML plot:

Capture33469.PNG

Diffraction:

Capture43470.PNG