•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

All My Binocular Objectives Just Got BIGGER!

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 SMark

SMark

Aurora

• topic starter
  • Loc: Clay County, AL USA

Posted 09 May 2021 - 12:00 AM

smile.gif  Yup, they really did!

I've been threatening to do this now for likely three years or more, but my wife and I finally said the time was now. So we started fixing up the house and made appointments with a couple realtors. Both said the same thing... STOP fixing up your house and just get it on the market! In the Atlanta housing market, apparently there is (or was at the time) a pretty large shortage of sellers. So we did just that. After listing our house and then showing it on Saturday and Sunday, we had 4 offers, with 3 of them well above the listing price, which had I set well above what both realtors had recommended. So with the sale of our house in the city imminent, we needed to quickly find our perfect retirement home in the country. Fortunately, I had been watching the market for quite some time and already had my short list. I had indicated earlier that we were primarily looking in the North Georgia Mountains, but that changed after I ran the numbers and saw how much we could save in taxes if we were to move to Alabama or Tennessee. We didn't want to move any further away since we are leaving our daughter in Atlanta where she will continue to live and work, and we wanted to stay close to her. So we have moved to Clay County Alabama. There are no large cities here, just a few very small towns. And we are located about 8 miles north of one of them. Our house is on a beautiful two acre lot where it's pitch black at night. No street lights, no neighbors, just really dark.