•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Eq6-r pro poor accuracy with larger focal length?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew_M12

Andrew_M12

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 May 2021 - 12:04 AM

I purchased a EQ6R-r pro last month so i’m fairly new to it. When I set up the mount, polar align it and complete a 2 star alignment with a Canon rebel t4i and 200mm lens, I get perfect accuracy with any target.

However when I polar align and complete a 2 or 3 star alignment with my Nexstar 8” Schmidt Cassegrain (with a f/6.3 focal reducer) and a Canon Rebel t4i attached to the EQ6R-pro, every time it seems that I’m far from my target (only by about a finger width from my target)

Another thing to add, when I am finding alignment stars while using my 200mm focal length lens and canon rebel t4i, by the 2ed or 3rd star, my picked alignment star will usually will be centred perfectly on the canon rebel t4i’s screen display after being slewed to. While even after 2 alignment stars using my Nexstar 8” S Schmidt Cassegrain, I still need to correct the last alignment star to be centred in the Canon Rebel t4i’s display after being slewed to. 

Things to consider:

- my mount is always in home position facing North before I begin polar aligning
- I use the built in polar scope when polar aligning
- I am using the hand controller when finding alignment stars
- to centre the stars when using a 2 or 3 star alignment, I am using my Canon Rebel t4i’s screen display

Edited by Andrew_M12, 09 May 2021 - 12:28 AM.

#2 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

Cosmos

• Moderators
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca

Posted 09 May 2021 - 12:59 AM

Read up on cone error. SCT's have mirrors that move around. You'll need to shim the scope to get better pointing - it's a one time exercise.