•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Focal Length Discrepancy

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 RJNick

RJNick

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pepperell, Massachusetts

Posted 09 May 2021 - 07:58 AM

Hi!  I'm very new to astrophotography and wanted to calculate the effective focal length for my setup and have come up with a problem with my calculations.  I sheepishly ask for some guidance or possibly a link to old fora that discuss this.

I have an old Celestron Ultima 11 SCT equipped with a Celestron f/6.3 focal reducer.  I am imaging with a Nikon Z7 mirrorless camera with a full frame sensor and 4.34 um pixels.  My camera sensor sits 106 mm behind the FR (Celestron told me the F/6.3 ratio is for an optimum distance of 105 mm behind the FR).  The FR is on the rear cell of the telescope, the Celestron T-adapter is 50 mm in length followed by a Fotasy T-ring (40 mm) and he flange distance of the Nikon Z7 is 16 mm.

My Celestron Ultima 11 has a published focal length of 2790 mm and a focal ratio of f/10 so I'd calculate the focal length with the FR would be about 0.63*2790=1758 mm.  To double check, I put the same values in the calculator on http://www.wilmslowa...re/formulae.htm and got a slightly different number of 1727 mm which is close.