•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Coronado PST Double Stack Imaging Help Please

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Runcoach

Runcoach

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Moosonee, Ontario, Canada

Posted 09 May 2021 - 08:24 AM

Hello,

I am a newbie at all of this with just enough knowledge to get into trouble. I have a Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro mount with a Coronado PST Double Stack and a QHY 5L-II-M.

I capture using FireCapture, convert the SER files from FireCapture to AVI using PIPP. I then stack the AVI into a tiff using AutoStackert and process it using Photoshop CC 2021.

I can't for the life of me get these wonderful images that you all get with the wonderful surface detail. Any help you can offer would be great. I have attached the last image I produced.

Its a little dark but I was trying to get the surface detail. Please be gentle with your feedback, I am new at this.

Attached Thumbnails

• Sun_040921_700am.png

Edited by Runcoach, 09 May 2021 - 08:31 AM.

#2 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Cosmos

• Loc: Florida

Posted 09 May 2021 - 08:38 AM

Hi,

What does it look like single stacked?

What was your exposure/histogram?

You will need to share much more information to help diagnose this. Software for acquisition, parameters and histogram as a result, total imaging train configuration, screen shots of all of it if you can.

Right away it looks off-band completely, as there's no filaments/plage area around the spot, and there should be, so its more a photosphere view or far red/blue wing view of chromosphere. So without knowing anything, I would advise, get the primary etalon tuned on-band first (single stack). Then add the 2nd etalon and remove the ghost reflection (minimal tilt needed possible) and then tune it back on-band (tilt induces blue shift) by tuning towards red wing.

Very best,

#3 Runcoach