•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

A few newbie Qs

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MadUKScientist

MadUKScientist

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 May 2021 - 10:22 AM

Equipment: SW EQ6-R pro, SW Esprit100ED+FF, ASI294MC pro camera, SW Evoguide 50+ASI290mm, Sesto Sensor2 focuser, Polemaster.

I’m just getting into astrophotography and after waiting for months, my gear finally arrived so I can stop using my rickety tripod.     I thought I would start fairly wide field with the 100ED initially to see how I got on.   One thing about having to wait for months to get your equipment is that I’ve had loads of time to do lots of reading and play with simulators.  

I’ve only had three clear night to have a play and have got most things working OK, including EQMOD, plate solving and guiding with PHD2.    Focussing caused me issues initially but is much easier now I’ve added the Sesto Sensor.    I’ve even manage to get about 1 hour’s data on my initial target, M81 with OK(ish) results.

I have a few newbie questions which I’d be most grateful for help with.

1.  If I decide to rotate the camera a few degrees for better framing after I’ve done the focussing is there a need to refocus?

2.  Regarding PHD2 calibration, is there a need to repeat after a time period?  E.g., as my new mount loosens up with use will this affect the calibration?

3.  Can I use flat calibration frames for more than one imaging session if I use the same camera temperature, camera orientation and focus (or very small changes to the last one)?

4.  I’ve started using Astrophotography Tool which is OK now I’ve found where things are hidden.   Is there something better out there I should be trying?      (I’ve already decided to switch from Photoshop to PixInsight).

Many thanks for any help.