•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astrophotography Gear Research

Astrophotography Beginner Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 samroon

samroon

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 May 2021 - 10:56 PM

Hi Everyone-

I have stumbled upon so many fantastic posts here in the forums and have gained great insight through this community, but this is my first time posting.

I'm still in the research phase for the gear I would like to start out with. As most of you probably know, that can be a daunting task. For a beginner, we not only don't know what we're doing, but we also have little understanding of all the gear that is needed in order to take decent photos.

I have been researching the gear almost daily for more than 7 months. I feel I have an 'ok' understanding of the basics around the numbers, the type of scopes, and their unique pros/cons for specific targets. What I don't know are things that can only come from experience, and so I have a couple of questions for this community.

This will be a bit long so I'll break it down into parts:

1. Location challenges
  2. What I plan to use it for
  3. The OTA

Location Challenges

I have two location challenges I need advice on:

I live in Helsinki, Finland. My exact location is classified as Bortle 8-9, but having lived in New York City for the better part of a decade I can look at the sky and tell you that light pollution is not nearly as bad here. I can see stars and planets with the naked eye at night.

My assumption is that I will be able to bypass most of the light pollution using a workflow that includes shooting with narrowband filters, mono, and combining them properly in post production.