•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Canon EOS Ra + Meade Lx850 ACF 16"

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 tinkerc

tinkerc

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 May 2021 - 05:49 AM

Hey everyone,

First post here. I've read tons of posts though! I'm fairly new to astrophotography and started with a Skywatcher 100ED refractor and an EQM-35 pro mount. I've since stumbled across a used Losmandy Titan mount and a Meade LX850 ACF 16" OTA. It's huge!  And the set up is very heavy. With a field flattener/reducer, I'm able to get my Canon EOS Ra to work perfectly with my 100ED refractor. I've finally gotten the Titan mount and Gemini 2 working perfectly,  but the pictures I take with the Ra when it's attached to the Meade has quite a lot of curvature and vignetting. I've attached a single quick sub from when I was focusing the telescope to show what I'm talking about. It was also shot from my light polluted backyard (Bortle 5), which may have something to do with that as well.