•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Micro Very Large Binocular Telescope Project

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Fivemileshigh

Fivemileshigh

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 May 2021 - 07:55 AM

So, I've been hashing ideas for a large binoscope for a few years, but recently two things happened to give the project a huge jolt forward:

1. I gave up on the idea of having it portable
2. I found a suitable location to build it.

I'm going to start this thread as a place to have my ideas critiqued and improved upon by the community that has given me so much to be since I started astronomy, I also will use it as extra motivation to finish it. I estimate 2-3 years to complete.

As much as possible, components will be commercially made, including the optics. I'm looking to reinvent as few wheels as possible.

I haven't finalized the specs yet, the primaries will be more than 30 but no more than 50in. I made a 12:1 model for my desk. In the photos, Luke Skywalker is 6" tall, I am 6', and the model is calculated around 40" f/3.

IMG_4135.JPG

Edited by Fivemileshigh, 12 May 2021 - 08:04 AM.

#2 Fivemileshigh

Fivemileshigh

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 May 2021 - 07:57 AM

Closer to horizontal:

IMG_4136.JPG

#3 tjschultz2011

tjschultz2011

Messenger

• Loc: Eldorado, WI

Posted 12 May 2021 - 09:14 AM

This is a formal offer to come test it out once you have it up and running lol. You should incorporate a seat into the build and motorize the whole set up including the seat. I remember seeing a post about it a while back and it looked like the coolest thing ever. 

https://www.cloudyni...rean-binoscope/

• Mike I. Jones and Fivemileshigh like this

#4 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Cosmos

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 12 May 2021 - 09:30 AM