•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Collimating a Newtonian

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 kevinbreen

kevinbreen

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Wexford, Ireland

Posted 12 May 2021 - 10:17 AM

I'm new to Newtonians, having recently bought a 10" f/4, and curious as to how you collimate yours.
I use a laser collimator in the daytime and that's easy to use to get "collimated", but what then if a star appears comet-like at night? My understanding is that if the star exhibits a tail due to bad collimation, then the primary mirror should be adjusted so as to move the star tail-first out of the FOV. I've been advised that this is is way to achieve better collimation. Does this sound correct?
I haven't had a clear night yet but I'd like to get ready as best as possible for when it is clear.

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Kev

#2 f300v10

f300v10

Viking 1

• Loc: Marietta, GA

Posted 12 May 2021 - 10:49 AM

There are numerous threads on collimation in the Equipment/Reflectors forum.  You would also likely get more responses to any questions if they were posted to that forum. 

I recently started using a 12" F4 Newt myself for DSO astrophotography.  I found using a barlow/laser an excellent way to achieve very accurate collimation in the field at night.  Here is an excellent video explaining this method:

https://www.youtube....h?v=ZCAy0kYnk9g

• jim kuhns likes this

#3 spereira

spereira

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Bedford, NH

Posted 12 May 2021 - 11:11 AM

Moving to Reflectors.

smp

#4 schai

schai

Lift Off

Posted 12 May 2021 - 11:25 AM

This is a pot of stew with wayyyyy too much meat and stuff.

lot of nutrition but no clarity

the short answer is find a mentor locally who can show you the ropes.

the long answer would go for pages and pages