•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

All new to me

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Gindie

Gindie

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 May 2021 - 09:16 AM

Hi everyone

I am new to all of this so please excuse the stupid questions!

I recently purchased a Celestron Starsense Explorer DX 6”. I can’t seem to find much information about this, including on the Celestron website. Has it been discontinued?

When viewing Arcturus from a light polluted city setting with the 40mm eyepiece included with the scope, there is a large black hole visible in the centre of the star, which I gather means the image is unfocused. When I adjust the focus, the star becomes a tiny point of light and not much bigger than when viewed with the naked eye. Is this just due to the magnification available from the scope / eyepiece?

Would I get a bigger image with a Barlow / different eyepiece? If so, are there any that you would recommend?

Apologies if the answers to these questions are obvious, but as you will gather from the above I really have no idea what I am doing!
  • radiofm74 likes this

#2 Couder

Couder

Apollo

• Loc: Mansfield, Missouri in the Ozarks

Posted 15 May 2021 - 09:24 AM

A star (other than our own star, the Sun) will always appear as a point of light.

• drd715 likes this

#3 Dynan

Dynan

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 May 2021 - 09:25 AM

First, welcome to CN! welcome.gif Your source for astronomy related palliatives. smile.png

Stars will always remain a point of light...especially if you're focused well. Try other larger targets...the Moon, M31 Andromeda Galaxy, etc. You'll get good sized views.

The central black spot shows you are far from focus. But this will be useful in the future when you colllimate your scope (another can of worms you can look forward to :smile:)