•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I can't process my images properly in Autostakkert!

Astrophotography Beginner Celestron Imaging Moon
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 TangledPoet

TangledPoet

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 May 2021 - 08:53 AM

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to this hobby. I took about 800 images of the moon over the span of an hour, an while stacking these images, I noticed Autostakkert doesn't account for field rotation. How might I fix this?

#2 RedLionNJ

RedLionNJ

Skylab

• Loc: Red Lion, NJ, USA

Posted 17 May 2021 - 09:13 AM

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to this hobby. I took about 800 images of the moon over the span of an hour, an while stacking these images, I noticed Autostakkert doesn't account for field rotation. How might I fix this?

Might this be user error? Did you enter the required parameters?

as_exp.jpg

#3 astroflak88

astroflak88

Messenger

• Loc: SoCal

Posted 17 May 2021 - 09:14 AM

The moon doesnt rotate that fast. What kind of camera are you using and are you doing a full disc or an up close detailed shot of moon?

Sent from my motorola edge plus using Tapatalk

#4 TangledPoet

TangledPoet

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 May 2021 - 09:32 AM

The moon doesnt rotate that fast. What kind of camera are you using and are you doing a full disc or an up close detailed shot of moon?

I'm using a Nikon D3400, attached to the back of the Celestron 8SE (With the standard Alt/Az mount included). It's a full disc shot, about 55% illuminated. I've noticed that the area around the image stabilization anchor is stacked nicely, and further out from this anchor the moon gets blurry because of the not properly stacked images. It is not a video, just 800 raw images.

#5 TangledPoet

TangledPoet

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter