•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bushnell Sky Rover

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Piaget

Piaget

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Eastern Missouri

Posted 08 June 2021 - 10:25 AM

Picked up a little Bushnell Sky Rover on GW about a month ago. Paid $138 & at the time thought it was way too much. A little research on CN showed it is probably an unbranded Royal Astro , the same as an Astro Optical R-53. From the look & quality of build I would tend to agree. It puts up great lunar views up to 70x with no image abberation or distortion. Well worth what I paid. OBJ has a little film around the edges & any suggestions on how to clean it would be greatly appreciated. I am not experienced at lens cleaning & don't want damage it.Vixen 1.25 visual back screwed right in , which was a blessing. Has a cool little peep sight.   Thanks JW 0020210608_093256.jpg  0020210608_093643.jpg  0020210608_093616.jpg

Edited by Piaget, 08 June 2021 - 10:31 AM.

• mdowns, Terra Nova, Bomber Bob and 3 others like this

#2 DouglasPaul

DouglasPaul

Viking 1

• Loc: Monroe Washington

Posted 08 June 2021 - 10:48 AM

I have just used Ziess lens wipes real gently after blowing them off and using a little camel hair brush if there was a need for it. It seemed to work fine without damaging the lens. But there are much more experienced people here so waiting for more options may be prudent. smile.gif

• Piaget likes this

#3 GreyDay

GreyDay

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southport UK

Posted 08 June 2021 - 10:48 AM

A little research on CN showed it is probably an unbranded Royal Astro , the same as an Astro Optical R-53. From the look & quality of build I would tend to agree.

It puts up great lunar views up to 70x with no image abberation or distortion.