•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Planetary Imaging with a Monochrome Camera

Planet Astrophotography Celestron SCT
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sandconp

sandconp

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Minnesota USA

Posted 09 June 2021 - 11:46 AM

I have been doing planetary imaging for a few years using my ZWO 178MC OSC camera.  I have since bought another planetary camera a ZWO 174 MM Monochrome camera for imaging the Sun which is highly recommended when doing Solar Imaging.  I believe that I add color by using Registax when I do the Wavelet processing.

Last night for the first time, I used my Monochrome Camera to image Jupiter and Saturn and was very happy with the results.  I have heard that it's better to use Monochrome camera's  for the Sun and Planets since the pixels are not wasted so you get better quality.

I am very familiar with using AutoStackert and Registax for Wavelet processing.  My question is I don't have a filter wheel so how do I add color to my image?  Would it be the same as using as Registax for my Solar images or would I use something like Photoshop to add the color?

#2 astroflak88

astroflak88

Messenger

• Loc: SoCal

Posted 09 June 2021 - 12:09 PM

You can simulate it in GIMP (in RGB mode) or with similar software but it won't come out as natural as having a filter wheel and the LRGB filters. Each color filter yields certain features that you can't do with software for each channel.

#3 Tyson M

Tyson M

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 09 June 2021 - 12:21 PM

Moved to Planetary imaging

#4 sandconp

sandconp

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Minnesota USA

Posted 10 June 2021 - 12:02 PM