•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is a Skywatcher Heritage 150p a good upgrade to a Meade S102, or should I save up for a larger dobsonian?

Beginner Dob Equipment Meade
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 bigopapa

bigopapa

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Tel Aviv, Israel

Posted 12 June 2021 - 09:54 AM

Hi!

I have a Meade S102 refractor telescope. I have been using it for about 4 months now, and it's working OK for me, but I am looking for an upgrade (mainly for planetary and visual observation).

I would get an XT6 or XT8, but shipping costs almost as much as the telescope for me, and they aren't in stock. 

I saw that the Heritage 150p has a larger aperture and a longer focal length than my current telescope. Do you think that it's worth an upgrade, or should I save up for a larger dob? Is the mount stable? Can it hold the weight of a phone adapter (+phone)?

Thanks!

#2 f74265a

f74265a

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 12 June 2021 - 12:02 PM

My personal view is to save up for what you really want when it is available.

#3 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

Gemini

• Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 12 June 2021 - 12:04 PM

I'd save up for a larger dob. The Heritage scope has a focal length that's only 25% longer and an f/ ratio that's 18% faster than your refractor which means that the increase in image scale won't be very much. You will have a higher resolution from the larger objective and the extra brightness from the shorter focal length shouldn't help a lot for planetary viewing.

All dobs will support using a cell phone camera. Worst case, you'll need to add a little weight at the mirror cell end of the scope to keep it in balance. Fill an empty Altoids (breath mints) box with lead weights (fishing or tire balancing) and glue magnets to it to make positioning it easily adjustable.

• MellonLake likes this