•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Would you be happy with 0.35 - 0.50 RMS in PHD2?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 ChiTownXring

ChiTownXring

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Sugar Grove, IL

Posted 12 June 2021 - 09:48 PM

I am running my EQ6R-Pro and hop between 0.35 and 0.50 RMS in PHD2 and I am happy with that even though I haven't run a calibration or the guiding assistant in PHD2 for over a month for fear of not getting better results but more so in fear of getting worse results.. With out a Field Flattener I think the stars in the center of my images look good but then again I am new to the hobby and have a lot to learn about this subject.. But would like to of course get the best out of my mount.

So have any one of you experienced running at my numbers then tweaked them for better results just by running a calibration or the guide assistant? 

Edited by ChiTownXring, 13 June 2021 - 07:15 PM.

#2 sbharrat

sbharrat

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: NJ, USA

Posted 12 June 2021 - 09:56 PM

I am running my EQ6R-Pro and hop between 0.5 and 3.5 RMS in PHD2 and I am happy with that even though I haven't run a calibration or the guiding assistant in PHD2 for fear of not getting better results but more so in fear of getting worse results.. With out a Field Flattener I think the stars in the center of my images look good but then again I am new to the hobby and have a lot to learn about this subject.. But would like to of course get the best out of my mount.

So have any one of you experienced running at my numbers then tweaked them for better results just by running a calibration or the guide assistant? 

Don't have a direct answer to your question since I generally do run the guiding assistance and the calibration, maybe not as regularly as I should but certainly several times since I started guiding in Feb 2021.