•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mirages during recent solar ecplise?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 flincken

flincken

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 June 2021 - 04:53 AM

Hi, I am pretty new to solar photography so please excuse a newbie question. During the recent eclipse I was shooting with my Solarmax 90mm and ZWO174 and it is usually very straight forward to find and focus on the sun. During the ecplise I had a lot of issues with solar flares and weird "mirages" when trying to find the sun. When I found what I thought was the sun (including the shadow of the moon) I was not able to find focus (on the 90mm I usually have to extend it fully + extend the camera a bit more to find focus, now to find the closest i could to focus I had to retract the full tube quite a lot) + it was much dimmer than usual and I had to push the gain to over 300 (usually have it at 0-30 for 10ms exposures)

After giving up on finding focus I started to move the telescope around a lot and found the real sun, and all was back to normal

Any ideas of what was going on?

#2 rigel123

rigel123

ISS

• Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 14 June 2021 - 04:58 AM

Is this a double stacked unit?  If so, it sounds like you were trying to focus on the “ghost” image that is in DS setups.  If not, I have no idea what you might have seen.

• hopskipson and Robinodavo like this

#3 hopskipson

hopskipson

Gemini

• Loc: Queens, New Yawk, Light pollution Headquarters!

Posted 14 June 2021 - 06:08 AM

Is this a double stacked unit?  If so, it sounds like you were trying to focus on the “ghost” image that is in DS setups.  If not, I have no idea what you might have seen.

That was my thinking as well.  It's happened to all of us I'm sure.

• rigel123 and Robinodavo like this

#4 flincken

flincken

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter