Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bresser Exos 2 GoTo Mount Connection to PC doesn’t work properly

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 14 June 2021 - 06:51 AM

Hello everybody,

I really hope somebody can help me out. I have almost no patience left with this mount.

I have a BRESSER Exos 2 GOTO Mount with the Firmware 2.3 and the correct cable for the connection.
I also can connect the mount with my laptop using POTH. However, I have had absolutely no luck in trying to use Stellarium and Cartes Du Ciel consistently. I had it work once or twice maybe in the morning. The crosshairs, the slewing of the mount and the syncing worked perfectly. When I turned the laptop off and tried to do the exact same thing later in the evening, it didn’t work at all. Frustrating to say the least.
I think I tried everything I found online already for the last two months. It just doesn’t work properly all the time. And I really don’t get, why it worked once but now it doesn’t work at all anymore. Whether it is the syncing, the slewing or something else. It never works correctly anymore. Reinstalling everything didn’t help either.

Can somebody tell me how he uses the mount and what his procedure is? It would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for my bad English. It is not my main language. If necessary, I can tell you everything I already tried.

All the best!!!!

#2 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 28 June 2021 - 07:42 AM

Has no one found a solution with this mount? :/

#3 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 30 June 2021 - 04:43 AM

Have you tried an raspberry pi running Astroberry? I have and it kind of works with the help of coding done by someone else here is there link. https://github.com/k...di-bresserexos2



#4 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 30 June 2021 - 07:18 AM

Thank you for the answer!
No, I haven’t tried it out yet. But I will give it a shot. Could you kindly tell me what you bought/did, do I don’t buy something unnecessary again? I am a little bit overwhelmed with this, as I have not done anything like this in my life before. I don’t know where to start…

#5 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 30 June 2021 - 09:53 PM

No worries, 

for starters you will need 

 

Raspberry Pi 3 and above and any dongles need to connect power, monitor, and keyboard mouse. https://www.raspberr...y-pi-4-model-b/

$35 USD. 

 

Next you will need to find a USB to serial connection. USB to Serial Adapter, Benfei USB to RS-232 Male (9-pin)  https://www.amazon.c...,aps,360&sr=8-3

$9

 

Telephone Cord, Phone Cord,Handset Cord, Black, 2 Pack, Universally Compatible https://www.amazon.c...25104161&sr=8-3

$8

 

YIOVVOM DB9 Breakout Connector to Wiring Terminal RS232 D-SUB Male Serial Adapters Port Breakout Board Solder-Free Module with case( Female Serial Adapter)

https://www.amazon.c...25104256&sr=8-4

$9

 

I used the pin out on this page to help me build the comm cable for the hand box controller to serial. https://www.funnytak...s232-kabel.html I used the 4 pin diagram which uses 3 wires ground, tx, rx. I can post pictures of how I did that if that would help and if you have any questions.

 

Flashing the sd card for the raspberry pi is easy google is your friend. You will need to navigate to astroberry web site and down load the ROM for the card. https://www.astroberry.io/

 

once that is done next you will need to load the drivers for the exos 2 mount in the Indi library, you can find the Github here  https://github.com/k...di-bresserexos2 Look for the load the Getting Started.

copy and past the commands in the terminal on the pi. I only had one problem the drivers did not load in the right place for me but I fix that by using the sudo cp to copy the xml and bin files in the right location. when you get to this point I will post the pictures on how I did that later.

 

Its allot to do but it works great.  



#6 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 07 July 2021 - 06:38 PM

Or you could just go this route 

 

https://www.cloudyni...s#entry11182466



#7 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 08 July 2021 - 06:27 AM

Thank you so so much! With the tips you gave me I was able to set it all up and as well get it running. Especially your last paragraph was really helpful, as I had the exact same problem.
However, a new problem occurred :D Maybe you can still help me with it, because I think that it is a problem on my side and not from the telescope or driver:

When I connect the telescope in EKOS I am not able to use the software buttons in the „Mount Control“ window. I am also not able to slew to a lot of targets. Only the targets that are really close to the park positions work correctly. The rest it just doesn’t even begin to love. It just stands still.
Could you maybe tell me, what your workflow ist and/or how you set it up(with screenshots of your settings maybe)? I finally had a clear night again yesterday and it was so frustrating again :D have the mount for half a year now and it never even worked correctly once

#8 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 08 July 2021 - 06:43 AM

Here is a post I made on the Github about my issue with the RA and DA being not pointing to the right stars. https://github.com/k...rexos2/issues/4 .

I found that when I turn off the feature of letting Kstars update date my mount locations when connection was made, I would have a better control of the GOTO feature. When I did not turn this feature off Kstars will reset the mount location to the default location of China. I would have to reset everything. location and time to get the GOTO function  working right. This issue will be looked into for future version update. I hope this helps.



#9 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 08 July 2021 - 06:56 AM

Thank you! I just saw your issue and was replying to it as well :D small world. At least in the telescope world.

So we both have that issue. Good to know that it is not me and that you found a solution for it. Great!

Still one more question: Are you able to slew to every target there is in the sky? Or do you have the same problem as me that you can’t slew to all targets? I guess you don’t because I you said it works great. I am wondering what the problem is with my setup… could you show me your settings maybe?

Best regards

#10 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 08 July 2021 - 06:57 AM

P.S.: And are you able to use the arrow buttons in the EKOS software in the „Mount Control“ window?

#11 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 08 July 2021 - 10:42 AM

Well when I say everything is working well, well being that we now have communication with mount to PC. With that said, it is an improvement from none.

I can move the mount by using the “Go To” command under the mount and somewhere in the Indi control panel (I will have to double check where). I haven’t been successful with the sync control; I am not sure on the process of how that works. 

Here is where I am having trouble, but I am not sure if it is related to alignment issue (polar, or telescope on mount). Now when I slew to targets the mount is close enough to it, I still need to do some hunting for the target. Thanks to plate solving, I can find it.

I will take pictures tonight of the setup process.



#12 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 08 July 2021 - 11:15 AM

That would be great! Thank you so so much! I am sure it is Gonna help me! Because if I can make it work like you, I would be more than happy :D

However, that you have to search your object even after setting it up perfectly is completely normal. It should be near the object that you are looking for but not directly on it. You always need to search for it.

That you can make it work with plate solving as well gets my hopes up! I always wanted to plate solve.

Clear skies tonight!
  • spysky96 likes this

#13 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 08 July 2021 - 10:57 PM

I posted pic in my gallery can't post them here I guess I am too new


Edited by spysky96, 09 July 2021 - 12:29 PM.


#14 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted 21 July 2021 - 04:55 PM

Hello spysky96,

I finally had the time and foremost the weather to try it all out. And thanks to your suggestion with deactivating the automatic date/time-syncing in astrometric, I was able to let the mount slew to the designated areas!!! Thank you so so much! I was really happy to see it work! Thanks!!!

However, I had problems with plate solving. When I use the plate solving feature in KStars, the mount itself won’t move when the astrophotography is solved.
You said that you were able to plate solve. Could you maybe, please, once more help me by telling me how you plate solve? :) I really don’t get it to work. It is the only thing that is missing until it all works I guess.

I hope that the weather will be better on the weekends now, so I can answer a little bit earlier.

All the best and thank you!

#15 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted 21 July 2021 - 06:57 PM

Hello spysky96,

I finally had the time and foremost the weather to try it all out. And thanks to your suggestion with deactivating the automatic date/time-syncing in astrometric, I was able to let the mount slew to the designated areas!!! Thank you so so much! I was really happy to see it work! Thanks!!!

However, I had problems with plate solving. When I use the plate solving feature in KStars, the mount itself won’t move when the astrophotography is solved.
You said that you were able to plate solve. Could you maybe, please, once more help me by telling me how you plate solve? smile.gif I really don’t get it to work. It is the only thing that is missing until it all works I guess.

I hope that the weather will be better on the weekends now, so I can answer a little bit earlier.

All the best and thank you!

Hi Stardog123,

So, I could only plate solve. Moving the mount was done with using the "GOTO" feature in Kstars. I believe this is based on the limitations of the connection to Kstars.  The answer is No, I can not slew to target after plate solving. I set new goto on the mount, plate solve until I was on target.

 

Known Issues and Limitations
Tracking modes can not be set, only Sidereal Tracking is working right now.
More a Hint than an issue: Sync only works when tracking an object. This behaviour is implemented on the handbox and can not be changed.
The sync function only works if you changed the pointing with your hand box not via the EKOS pointing control
you can not perform the meridian flip from afar, since the handbox does not allow it.
Software Sky Coordinates may differ from Handbox Coordinates

 

 

I am glad my tips help you out. I order the EqstarEQ5 from astro gadget. I would like a little bit more automation function. Like scheduling targets to track and take photos. 


Edited by spysky96, Yesterday, 07:17 AM.


#16 StarDog123

StarDog123

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 14 Jun 2021

Posted Today, 05:23 AM

Hey!
I see. Well, the syncing doesn’t work for me either. Can’t get it to work.
I am strongly considering buying another motor as well. Could you maybe tell me, why you chose that one and if it all works, once you tried it out? I guess I would buy it as well then.
Clear skies!!!
  • spysky96 likes this

#17 spysky96

spysky96

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2021
  • Loc: PNW

Posted Today, 06:03 AM

Hey!
I see. Well, the syncing doesn’t work for me either. Can’t get it to work.
I am strongly considering buying another motor as well. Could you maybe tell me, why you chose that one and if it all works, once you tried it out? I guess I would buy it as well then.
Clear skies!!!

I was looking at the Explore Scientific EXOS2-GT. Its basically the same mount but with belt upgrade and motor control system. This removes the hand controller, you connect your phone or PC. The price $999 is allot for just the belt drive($100+-?) and motor drive control system($200+-?).

 

I was then looking at maybe a DIY option like

https://create.ardui...inoscope-4d399c

With this I could use the current motors and build my own hand controller. $300 

 

I found the astro gadget to be a better option. Its is coming with stepper motors that can run 12-28v https://www.youtube....h?v=j2LTw5HLAYU somewhere in here they mention increasing the voltage above 12v will give you more control out of the motors. So this is why I went with the Pro version from astro-gadget.

here is one review I found.

https://joeytroy.com...roeqm35-review/

website astro-gadget $280

https://astro-gadget...er-eqm-35-mount

 

Astro-gadget looks like it will be a win for me for $280, once I get it I will report back its on its way. 




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics