•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iOptron mounts with EC

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kalski44

kalski44

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 June 2021 - 08:05 AM

I am relatively new in astrophotography. Since a few months I'm using budget mount (iExos-100) and I am quite happy, hover I would like to buy telescope RC6", it means that I need new mount with higher capacity and better tracking. Due to mobility I am focused on iOptron CEM26 or GEM28 (depends on availability), but there is one feature which is not clear for me... I'm talking about versions with "EC" - error corrections. I have found an info that this is an additional electronics which correct errors - that is clear, but what is real adventage in compare to the versions without that system? what tracking improvement can I expect in compare to the version without EC? is it worth to pay two times more?

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Skylab

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 14 June 2021 - 08:19 AM

I have EC version (CEM60) but I rarely benefit using encoders.
In theory it allows you to track without help of autoguiding - up to a point.
But encoders in iOptron mounts are not so good as are in premium mounts like 10Micron.
So if you are wondering if you need it I'd say no.

#3 GoldSpider

GoldSpider

Apollo

• Loc: Pennsylvania

Posted 14 June 2021 - 08:20 AM