•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

M101 - The “finished” project.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Professor2112

Professor2112

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Massachusetts

Posted 14 June 2021 - 10:59 PM

Hello all

Ive been working on this one for the last week over 3 clear nights.  It’s my first real effort with the new imaging rig consisting of a TS Photoline 130/910, asi2600mm combo using LHaRGB, carried by my trusty Cem70. I used the zwo m68 oag/asi120mm mini for guiding.  I’m new to mono imaging as well, and after this result I don’t think I could ever not have a mono camera as my main camera lol.gif   This is just under 7 hours of data total with the RGB being taken from my bortle 8 yard along side some L and Ha.  What really helped the image was the clear night I had at my parents while visiting their bortle 4 home where I added a bunch of L and Ha to the mix. It’s amazing how much light pollution can hold us back. Seriously, sometimes it’s not our skill or equipment, but our unfortunate bortle scale we have to image from that holds us back!  

Anyway.. this is the first image I’m truly proud of that actually meets my expectations.  That moment where if feels like all the hard work over the past year has finally paid off and I can breathe a sigh of relief that I didn’t waste thousands of dollars!  I really hope you enjoy this one even 10% as much as I have!  It was a lot of fun to shoot.  And as always comments and criticism is welcome, as I’m always trying to get better!  Just because I’m happy with it doesn’t mean I don’t want to get better! No cruise control here. 

Andrew

get.jpg?insecure

Attached Thumbnails

• 35492E28-AFF2-4CBB-B28C-781B29D1BBCB.png

• dswtan, Wigleydh, themis_greece and 18 others like this

#2 havasman

havasman

Voyager 1

• Loc: Dallas, Texas

Posted 14 June 2021 - 11:09 PM