•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What makes Questar so special?

• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 HasAnyoneSeenMyNebula

HasAnyoneSeenMyNebula

Ranger 4

• topic starter

Posted 14 June 2021 - 11:49 PM

I was a little hesitant to ask this question. I’m still rather new to astronomy. When I browse the classifieds I notice that Questars come at quite a premium to comparable scopes (in terms of size). So there must be a reason.

So this is an honest question out of the desire to inform myself in the field. Would you mind shedding some light for me?

#2 dswtan

dswtan

Viking 1

• Loc: Morgan Hill, CA

Posted 15 June 2021 - 12:08 AM

Rolex vs Timex. Same thing. The one time I looked through a Questar, the view (of Jupiter) was notably really nice. 

• GR1973, Jim Waters, JMKarian and 3 others like this

#3 chanrobi

chanrobi

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 15 June 2021 - 12:10 AM

I was a little hesitant to ask this question. I’m still rather new to astronomy. When I browse the classifieds I notice that Questars come at quite a premium to comparable scopes (in terms of size). So there must be a reason.

So this is an honest question out of the desire to inform myself in the field. Would you mind shedding some light for me?

Rolex

Bentley

Gucci

Bulgari

Ferrari

I think you get the point

• JMKarian likes this

#4 chanrobi

chanrobi

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 15 June 2021 - 12:11 AM

Rolex vs Timex. Same thing. The one time I looked through a Questar, the view (of Jupiter) was notably really nice. 

My $15 Casio FW-91A has better timekeeping then $10k+ rolexes, at +/- 1s per month

• Kfrank, Steve Cox, Dynan and 2 others like this

#5 jimr2

jimr2

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Sparks, NV

Posted 15 June 2021 - 12:21 AM

Yes, but your $15 Casio FW-91A doesn't have the pzazz (nor the amount of gold) that a $10K Rolex has!