•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Chipped primary skywatcher 250P 10" classic dob

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Az_Rael

Az_Rael

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Palmdale, CA

Posted 18 June 2021 - 04:47 PM

Gutted right now. Got this scope a week ago and was removing the finder bracket for a different one while working on the scope vertically. Lesson learned about working on a reflector vertically. Finder bracket has a large metal reinforcement plate on the interior which was only attached with the two screws, so whole thing went clattering down onto the mirror.

Here is what I ended up with: http://imgur.com/gallery/gILS266

I am pretty new to the hobby and this is my first dobsonian. Based on some searches here, maybe I should remove the primary and black out the chips with a sharpie? Are these going to progress to cracks like a windshield would? Ugh.

Thoughts on how bad this is?

Gonna ping skywatcher as well and see how much a replacement will cost assuming I could get one before 2022.
  • Jon Isaacs likes this

#2 moonrakercat

moonrakercat

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario Canada

Posted 18 June 2021 - 05:15 PM

HI Az - the damage won't make any difference to your views - if you had a new mirror and compared views with it to the one in the pics - you would not be able to tell the difference.   Everyone here will most likely echo this.

The only problem you may have in the future is if the aluminumizing starts to oxidize since the clear coating on the mirror is damaged - and that would be years & years down the road as long as you take care of that mirror.

I wouldn't sharpie out anything on it - I'm not sure if putting something on the chips - ie a small dab of clearcoat would help ?  You'll have to wait for others to chime in.

That mirror looks like it could use a cleaning.