•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New at EAA, and need advice on dim objects

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hokkaido53

hokkaido53

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Northern New Mexico

Posted 19 June 2021 - 08:14 PM

Hi, everyone,

I'm new at EAA. For the the past 5 years, I've been happily sketching at the eyepiece, but I recently decided to take the plunge and purchase Mallincam's SkyRaiderDS10c camera. I first tested it a week ago, and got some fine views of the gibbous Venus, as well as craters along the crescent moon's terminator. However, when I aimed the camera toward Markarian's Chain, I just got a black screen on my laptop.

Obviously, distant galaxies produce much less light than the moon or planets, but I'm not sure how to adjust the camera to compensate for this. Any advice to this newbie will be appreciated!

Clear skies,

Roy in New Mexico

PS: My scope is an 18" Classic Obsession, with ServoCAT and ArgoNavis.

Edited by hokkaido53, 19 June 2021 - 08:16 PM.

• Hobby Astronomer likes this

#2 Alien Observatory

Alien Observatory

Surveyor 1

Posted 19 June 2021 - 08:42 PM

Would recommend you goto the Mallincam Bcast site, Sign up and look for any live Bcasts.  Additionally it has a Face Book page for its members where you could ask specific questions.  Your 18" Obsession telescope is more than capable of imaging the Markarian's Chain using the DS10C.   Pat Utah smile.gif

https://www.liveskie...s.org/channels/

p.s.  In fact Rock is bcasting now live...

Edited by Alien Observatory, 19 June 2021 - 08:49 PM.

• hokkaido53 likes this

#3 hokkaido53

hokkaido53

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 20 June 2021 - 03:08 PM

Thanks, Pat!

- Roy

#4 dcweaver

dcweaver

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Silicon Valley

Posted 26 June 2021 - 04:10 AM