•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Reversible Canon t3 astro modification used with clip-in filters

Astrophotography CMOS DSLR Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 steven2992

steven2992

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 June 2021 - 12:55 PM

Hi, 

I'm new to the forum and excited to start imaging milky ways and deep space objects. I have some experience with my Canon 80D, sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 and 150-600mm Contemporary and Skywatcher Star Adventurer Pro. I'm looking to modify an old Canon t3 (1100D) to help with H-alpha sensitivity, both for wide field and deep space. 

However, I would still like to be able to use my Canon t3 as a daytime camera, so I've been researching ways of reversing an astromod back to a factory setting. I believe I've figured it out, but seeing as I'm new to this and this could potentially render my camera useless, I would really appreciate it if someone experienced in this field would be able to tell me if I missed any important steps or made any mistakes in my thought  process. 

I'm interested in performing what I believe is called a Baader mod, or removing LPF-2. I would like to replace LPF-2 with a piece of glass of the same thickness, because I've read that not replacing the glass will render the cameras autofocus useless. I found this piece of glass made by Astronomik : https://www.astronom...100d-1200d.html . Would it work for replacing LPF-2?

I'd also use a clip-in filter to emulate the effect of LPF-2 that was removed. From what I've read, this filter makes an astromodded camera behave as a factory camera, also from Astronomik : https://www.astronom...cd-typ-iii.html . Would this work to replace the function of LPF-2?