•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

SCT for ES/MS Education - what load and options?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SchoolMaster

SchoolMaster

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 21 June 2021 - 04:24 PM

I'm a teacher in Tampa, Florida (28N, 82.5W) and I teach students aged 4 to 14.

I'm returning to this site after three years, because plans to do in-person observation using a donation fell though due to administrative and practical challenges.  I have new management and a new focus and support in this new initiative, built on equipment, experience, and infrastructure developed for the 'Year of COVID'

When the school year starts in August, I need to be able to Zoom share  astronomical images from an observation site to my students, at night, in semi-real-time; nothing really new and revolutionary there.  I have already used some of our equipment (camera and scopes) to capture real-time terrestrial observations, such as a nest of bees 30 feet up a tree and an osprey nest on top of a cell-phone tower, so I feel confident with the computer image out to the world part and my 'success' here has landed me in my current predicament.

Things advance quickly.  I need to put in a proposal for about $5000 worth of kit for a 'good' school system.  We will be observing from the end of a dock on a smallish lake at the school to get the most sky, because of all the trees on the property.  At times, the whole shebang will be transported home in my car.  Since I get up to prepare school at 4:00am and have a commute that can exceed an hour (or two on a bad day), I get more sleep if I can drive home before observing rather than after.  I'm nearly 70 and lifting weight of more than 60 lb on even an irregular basis is more than I want to do.