•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with drawing double stars in color

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 JimP

JimP

Mercury-Atlas

• topic starter
  • Loc: USA

Posted 23 June 2021 - 04:59 PM

I know there are individuals who are computer savvy who can make beautiful color drawings of double stars with a black background. I have been keeping a journal of my observations since 1965 and, would  like to draw my impression of doubles in color within my journal. I do not want something on a separate piece of paper which is easily lost. Do I just use colored pencils and forget about a black background? Do I use black gouache  to create the black background and leave open spaces to draw the double? Any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated.

Best,

JimP

Attached Thumbnails

• 3BCD4489-9B23-428F-BCFB-B44710D4248E.jpeg

• Daniel Mounsey and Spile like this

#2 ScottW

ScottW

Viking 1

Posted 23 June 2021 - 05:39 PM

Jim,

They make white ink pens.  May be you could draw the stars with ones and then color over them if needed.

Just a thought, I"ve never done it!

Scott

• JimP likes this

#3 Ml fly

Ml fly

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Central Florida

Posted 24 June 2021 - 10:40 PM

Carson XL 92lb drawing paper is in black and thin enough to cut into circles. You can attach these to your notebook via uhu glue or double sided tape. You could make a hundred in very little time and would last a while. I have also numbered pages of notebook and drawing pads and wrote cross referenced page numbers/dates on both pages and wasn’t unhappy with that. So, if you ever decided you wanted to use black background paper, there are a couple of ways to do it.

• JimP and Spile like this

#4 Fiske

Fiske

Gemini

• Loc: Kansas (Kansas City area) / USA

Posted 25 June 2021 - 04:33 PM