•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ASIAir Pro signal through dense forest

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Ken K Astro

Ken K Astro

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Naperville, IL

Posted 23 June 2021 - 06:39 PM

Hi, folks - I am new to astrophotography and would value your input on something. I have access to a cabin in a very dark area, but (because the cabin is surrounded by trees) will need to do my imaging from a meadow that is 540 feet (165 meters) from the cabin. Unfortunately for me, about 2/3's of that distance is fairly dense forest. The cabin itself has wifi.

If possible, I would like to set up my gear and set up Autorun in my ASIAir Pro in the meadow and then head back to the cabin and be able to monitor things via the ASIAir Pro software using the cabin's wifi. I am completely ignorant on this, but I have two possibilities in mind and am wondering whether either of these is even workable and/or preferable in light of the forest.

• Option one is some type of wifi extender setup that could extend the wifi signal from the ASIAir Pro through that much forest (at 2.4ghz?). I came across some Ubiquiti extenders that can go through thick forest, but I am not sure if on a practical level this would work at that distance. I am not sure if the 2.4 ghz signal required would be workable either as I saw some videos indicate 900ghz should be used.