•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PVS-14 at 1x, does a filter make a noticeable difference?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Curry-rice

Curry-rice

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Hawaii Kai, Oahu

Posted 26 June 2021 - 07:17 AM

Been reading the pinned sections and the rest of the forum but struggling with the vast amount of information as I’m a newbie to this world. 

Does using a 650nm or 6-7nm h-a filter make a significant difference at 1x handheld scanning of the sky (and pics/video with cell phone)?

Eventually want to learn to build a more dedicated setup but funds have been depleted in the short term with the recent acquisition of my NVD. Didn’t know how blown away I would be at the view from my backyard and clearly could see the Milky Way even with street lights so nearby. Simply amazing and glad I found this community. 

#2 Mazerski

Mazerski

Viking 1

Posted 26 June 2021 - 07:49 AM

Regardless of magnification:

== the 685nm IR filter blocks nebulosity and darkens the sky for good contrast between sky / stars

== the 642nm IR filter allows some nebulosity (M17, M42 are visible with filter) and provides great views of Milky Way clouds. M42 thru scope with 642 Filter looks great

== the 6 and 7nm Ha filter darkens the sky but allows emission nebula to shine thru. Stars are visible but less than with IR filter

You need at least one IR and one Ha filter: for sky contrast and to see emission nebula.

#3 GOLGO13

GOLGO13

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 26 June 2021 - 09:25 AM

Totally agree with Maz. There are times to use no filter, but having one of each filter will be necessary for all situations and magnications.

#4 Jeff Morgan

Jeff Morgan

Voyager 1

• Loc: Prescott, AZ

Posted 26 June 2021 - 09:59 AM

Yes, big difference.