•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Meade RCX 400 10” would you buy one!?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Supernova74

Supernova74

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 11 July 2021 - 02:25 PM

Hi guys I’m relatively new to this side of the forums.

well I’ve heard some plus and negatives regarding the Meade RCX line up of scopes,and on occasions has been rather lukewarm! Affair,so from my understanding the RCX 400 was released in around 2004-05 in 10”12”14” and far as I’m aware maybe be wrong also a 16” And was there even 20” on Meades max mount.So the plus points i here was the best optically sct cassagrain ever produced and how does those claims add up to the more modern ACF optics of today in my current 12” ACF is it marginal or literally spot the differences,in very small increments of optical noticeable gain,also the versatility of being able to collimate from the handset also motor focus which is a added bonus.

Now for some of the negative aspects I’ve heard!? from the imformation ive received,these scopes are prone for being unreliable due to the complexed electronics and kind of have a feeling for the time the scope was released it was leaps and bounds ahead of its time infact and did Meade take a major blunder in reliability.so is some of this information accurate or based on hearsay or a bit of both,you guys tell me and hopefully you can put me in the picture a little from the facts and the fiction I think it’s also safe to say now that most of us,not just Meade owners are aware by now about the law suit against the company and now is owned by a Chinese optical firm of some description however I’ve also received yet again more info that might of changed ownership again.