•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which camera for EAA and livestreaming with dobsonians?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mario_S

Mario_S

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Austria, Europe

Posted 14 July 2021 - 03:26 PM

Hello!

I am looking for a camera for EAA and livestreaming (often both together) through my dobsonian telescopes (200/1200 and 400/1680).

As a teacher, I regularly livestream through my telescope for my students since Corona. I currently use my ZWO ASI 178 MC for this. Unfortunately, this does not work out well because the field of view is too small for most objects.

Therefore I would like to buy a new camera, which I can use in the future for the livestreams and EAA.

Which camera would you currently recommend me?

Is a cooled camera still an advantage for EAA with short exposures or can I do without it?
Since I have a dealer here where I get a discount on ZWO ASI cameras, I would prefer a camera from ZWO.

I look forward to your tips on which camera is best here,
Mario

Edited by Mario_S, 14 July 2021 - 03:42 PM.

#2 GaryShaw

GaryShaw

Apollo

• Loc: Massachusetts / Wyoming

Posted 14 July 2021 - 04:21 PM

Hi

The ASI 294mc is a great camera with a pretty wide field of view but I don’t know, of course, what FOV you are looking to have. I’d suggest you go to Astronomy tools’ website and ‘model’ various cameras and input your dob’s FL and aperture into the online FOV calculator. Be sure to select ‘Imaging’ at the top: heres a link 

https://astronomy.to.../field_of_view/