•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Equatorial Wedge Adjustment and LX200 Alignment

Polar Alignment Meade Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 dellavolpe

dellavolpe

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 July 2021 - 02:00 PM

Hello everyone; I'm a beginner in astronomy and astrophotography (and sorry for the big text). Two months ago I purchased a 10" Meade LX200 GPS (I haven't updated the Autostar yet because I bought the cable via internet and it's about to arrive). I'm Brazilian, I live in the state of São Paulo (22° 45' 17'' South, Longitude : 47° 24' 52'' West), so the alignment differs from the manual. I also acquired an equatorial wedge; to calculate the complementary angle, I take into account Zenith - latitude = 90o - 22o = 68o (approximately - a clinometer on the cell phone can be used to check these 68o?) Is the angle I should mark on the wedge correct?
I entered my city (latitude and longitude, changed the alignment to polar), date and time, before doing the alignment by Sigma Octanis. I did the "one star" alignment, but when I enter the Go To command (for Saturn, for example), there is poor accuracy; I make new adjustments and can't keep up. Probably, due to my very little experience, I am making mistakes in the process, made difficult by living in the southern hemisphere. Could someone help me with a verification tutorial for my condition? Most of the videos I find on YouTube refer to Alignments in the Northern Hemisphere, by Polaris. Thank you very much for your attention.

#2 diceless

diceless

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 15 July 2021 - 02:47 PM

Dellavolpe, you are outside the latitude range for the wedge. At a latitude of 22 you are under the min latitude of 25.

#3 diceless

diceless

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southern California