•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Should I buy a Tasco 7x50 Porro binocular ?

Beginner Binoculars
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 The unAverage Hu Man

The unAverage Hu Man

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 July 2021 - 01:46 AM

Hi !! So I'm really new to the whole binoculars for star gazing thing, watched a few videos, mostly Ed Ting's and I'm not sure which pair of binoculars to buy for checking out how it works and if I want to really get into it.

Ed Ting recommended the celestron cometron 7x50 which I can get for about CAD $68, but I also found Tasco 7x50's for $54.

Both of them seem to gave good reviews and I'm not sure which is better, as Tasco seems to have some controversy over it ?

I'm hoping to get some pointers here about the two and potentially other great options.

Thanks! (Living in Dubai, going to Canada for studies in 1.5 months!)

Tasco 7x50 binos.jpg

Celestron 7x50 binos.jpg

Edited by The unAverage Hu Man, 22 July 2021 - 07:26 AM.

• sevenofnine likes this

#2 Cestus

Cestus

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 22 July 2021 - 09:44 AM

I would advise going with a Nikon 7x50 Aculon or Action Extreme. You want something that is a bit better quality. If you can hold a 10x50 steady that will afford deeper views.

Edited by Cestus, 22 July 2021 - 09:44 AM.

• Jon Isaacs, hallelujah, Foss and 2 others like this

#3 xvariablestarx

xvariablestarx

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Limerick, Ireland

Posted 22 July 2021 - 09:55 AM

I had Tasco binoculars before, and the quality was ok, but I had a telescope of theirs, and its quality was not ok, so Tasco is a risk. Celestron is a good make but often cuts corners with their lower end stuff, so they are also a risk.

• hallelujah, Foss and The unAverage Hu Man like this

#4 The unAverage Hu Man

The unAverage Hu Man

Lift Off

• -----