•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astronomical Seeing in Big Bear Lake, CA

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MountainAir

MountainAir

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 22 July 2021 - 11:56 AM

Does anyone have any useful experience to share regarding the ground-perspective astronomical seeing in Big Bear Lake, CA?

Three times I was able to bring my 2350mm SCT to Big Bear, but I have no real experience with the seeing.

• Once I managed to get just a few minutes in with Jupiter and Saturn before the clouds rolled in.  I didn't capture enough data for a lucky imaging stack.
  • Another time I had it there for 4 days but couldn't get a clear view of the sky around the hotel (and it was Valentine's Day weekend, so no trip off into the wilderness for me).
  • This last time I rented a cabin for a week, but the entire time it was windy (10+ mph winds, though by the sound of the trees I think it was faster at higher elevation) that affected seeing enough to make focusing unreliable.

In short, I've been there three times and have not been able to take one usable photo or assess the seeing conditions at all.

I can see the seeing scores in arcsec on MeteoBlue, but I believe these are calculated from satellite/weather data and are not actual ground observation conditions (which are probably 2" seeing or worse).

https://www.meteoblu...america_5328163

I am just wondering how the mountain compares to the desert (e.g. East San Diego County).  The mountain certainly perturbs the laminar flow off the coast, but there's less atmosphere to worry about at 7200ft vs 3000 ft.

Any experience to share?  Maybe comparison photos of Jupiter from the two locations?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by MountainAir, 22 July 2021 - 11:57 AM.

#2 MarMax

MarMax

Apollo

• Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 22 July 2021 - 01:02 PM