•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PoleMaster Precise Polar Alignment trouble

Beginner Polar Alignment
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MonikaW

MonikaW

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 July 2021 - 01:41 PM

Hi there! I am brand new to astrophotography. I used my PoleMaster for the first time last night. It seemed to be going well until precise polar alignment the end - the green square was far away from the red circle, and no matter which way i moved my azimuth/alt bolts, only the stars would move across the screen. The green square and red circle did not move at all as I moved the mount. Below is a photo of how this looked. The green square is just to the right of dead centre, and the red circle was far away on the right-centre. Based on the videos I watched, the red circle and green square should have appeared very close together after clicking "start monitor", but mine were far away. I have a feeling this indicates maybe I misaligned something in the previous steps.

Seeing was average, USB cord was on left side when I faced front of camera, no cords were snagged/disconnected. Can anyone advise why the red circle didn't move on the screen as I moved the mount, even though the stars were moving appropriately a on the screen as i moved the mount? 

Here is what I think might have caused problems, but I'm not quite sure:

• Would it have anything to do with full moon? I live in light polluted suburbs and the moon was behind me at a lower altitude than polaris. I tried all gain and exposure settings and no change.
  • When using the overlay to align the five surrounding stars, my stars were never in the centre of the circles (though there was a star within each circle)- do they need to be in the centres of the circles?