•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Total beginner - am I on the right track?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 bradbaker7

bradbaker7

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Circle Pines, MN

Posted 22 July 2021 - 02:42 PM

I'm making the jump from visual to astrophotography and I'm hoping to get some advice on the following.

My short term plan:

Sky-Watcher EQM-35 Equatorial GoTo Mount (in preparation for a larger setup in the future)

Used Canon T3i un-modded w/stock 18-55mm lens

Long term, I would probably add a refractor (Apurtura 72mm or something similar) and would also like the ability to control the mount and preview images from inside my home (if possible).

How am I doing? Any red flags? What kind of equipment/software would I need for eventual remote control and previewing images remotely?

#2 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

Author

• Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 22 July 2021 - 02:55 PM

A lens that is not a zoom would be to your advantage.  (Wider aperture and inherently better optical performance.)  Because Canons take adapters (Fotodiox), you can put Nikon, Pentax, etc. lenses on them (focusing manually, which is the only way you will ever focus in astrophotography).  Any good 135-mm f/2.8 lens would be a good start (or others thereabouts, such as 100mm).  I am assuming you want to minimize cost.  

#3 bradbaker7

bradbaker7

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: Circle Pines, MN

Posted 22 July 2021 - 03:03 PM