•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Hi! I'm a noob with an RC6 and I have some questions that are not "how do I fix my totally messed up collimation?"

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 dx_ron

dx_ron

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 22 July 2021 - 02:49 PM

(I'm not a total noob, I have been imaging with my Z61 refractor for ~8 months now)

I just came in to possession of what seems to be a fairly new iOptron RC6. Purchased from an older gentleman who had recently given up hauling around his 12" dob. He tried the RC6 but fairly quickly decided it was not the visual scope he was looking for and put it up for sale. It arrived at my house in seemingly excellent shape with still a hint of new-telescope smell, even.

1. - Just a bit about collimation: Having read most of the collimation nightmare stories and waded through many posts about potential procedures and gadgets, I was convinced to wait and look at stars before loading up on gadgets to try any indoor collimation. I am totally a novice at looking at defocused stars, but I think it actually looked pretty good (yeah! if true). I used Vega (probably more like a 2nd mag star last night thanks to haze and smoke) and a 9mm plossel eyepiece. After finding focus (all of the extensions) all I really knew to do was center the star, defocus inward and see what it looked like. Despite fully expecting to see ovals, the black center looked quite respectably centered in respectably round diffractions. On the downside, it was very inconvenient and uncomfortable to do this - basically laying on the driveway propped partway up on an elbow and twisting my neck to get at the eyepiece. Next clear-ish evening I can try with the tripod slightly less extended to see if I can reduce the "propping partway up" part to be able to have more time with my head held still.