Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

display

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 23 July 2021 - 10:02 PM

when ever I connect my Meade lx200 via auto star and hand control display on comp screen never displays what you select, for example if you select solar system and Jupiter

there is no display. any advise much appreciated

cheers

Attached Thumbnails

  • unnamed.jpg


#2 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 July 2021 - 10:08 PM

Gday John

IIRC, this happened with later versions of windows and is tied to the desktop "theme" colours used.

Meades text comes out as black on black with the default theme.

Cant remember which one worked but something with "classic" in it rings a bell as working.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • dcaponeii likes this

#3 dcaponeii

dcaponeii

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Waxahachie, TX

Posted 24 July 2021 - 07:42 AM

I had the same thing happen to me last evening.  Fortunately the display on my Autostar II is fully functional and I could just read the display from there.



#4 dcaponeii

dcaponeii

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Waxahachie, TX

Posted 25 July 2021 - 02:56 AM

Did you have any luck with this? Still not displaying text for me

#5 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 25 July 2021 - 05:21 PM

no luck so far, I have tried every back ground colour on windows.



#6 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 25 July 2021 - 05:34 PM

Gday John

Are you randomly changing colours, ??? or trying a different "theme".

Just try the windows "classic" to see what happens.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#7 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 26 July 2021 - 12:40 AM

Andrew thanks for your reply,  I have tried all colours in meade list. forgive my poor comp knowledge but please exp what you mean by windows classic

cheers



#8 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 26 July 2021 - 01:22 AM

Gday John

I have tried all colours in meade list.

Dont know what the "Meade List" is???

 

please exp what you mean by windows classic

Windows has a thing called "themes" for setting screen colours.

I have Win7, and in that, you go into the control panel

then select  "Appearance and personalistion"

and within that "Change Theme"

"Windows classic" is one of the options you can choose.

I dont have ASSuite loaded so cant see the effects but IIRC

the change in theme made the text visible.

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#9 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 26 July 2021 - 01:35 AM

my system is windows 10, there seems to be some difference in the settings

thanks Andrew



#10 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 26 July 2021 - 02:26 AM

Gday John

Just google

"autostarsuite W10 remote handbox"

Several hits there from people using it.

Some mention having to run ASSuite in W7 compatibility mode????

Other than that, someone with W10 will have to chime in as i dont

have that bloatware loaded on any of my PCs.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#11 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 26 July 2021 - 02:44 AM

thanks Andrew I will try that

 cheers 



#12 dcaponeii

dcaponeii

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Waxahachie, TX

Posted 26 July 2021 - 10:49 AM

Gday John

Just google

"autostarsuite W10 remote handbox"

Several hits there from people using it.

Some mention having to run ASSuite in W7 compatibility mode????

Other than that, someone with W10 will have to chime in as i dont

have that bloatware loaded on any of my PCs.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia

In windows 10 the equivalent screen is called "personalize".  You can access it by right-clicking on your desktop and selecting the "personalize" setting.  There is a Browse button that lets you select the different "themes".  I only found this today on my office computer and have not yet tried it on the Autostar Suite program.  I like the idea of running it in Windows 7 compatibility mode too and will try that at my next opportunity.  Thanks Andrew for the tips.



#13 dcaponeii

dcaponeii

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Waxahachie, TX

Posted 30 July 2021 - 09:08 AM

Gday John
Just google
"autostarsuite W10 remote handbox"
Several hits there from people using it.
Some mention having to run ASSuite in W7 compatibility mode????
Other than that, someone with W10 will have to chime in as i dont
have that bloatware loaded on any of my PCs.

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


I tried running in Window 7 compatibility mode but still no display on laptop. Any ideas? Couldn’t find “classic” anything in the personality although I didn’t select the search the web feature.

#14 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 30 July 2021 - 04:46 PM

Gday dcaponeii

Not from me.

I refuse to load W10 to anything ( even to test )

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • dcaponeii likes this

#15 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 31 July 2021 - 02:02 AM

Andrew, I have used up all my options and still no display. I have two towers running windows ten and both cannot revert back to windows 7, at the moment have my old tap top in for restart after about eight years in storage and have asked tech to leave at windoww xp as operating system. when I  get back will try and let you know if display operates with remote hand book

cheers  J G 



#16 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,269
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 31 July 2021 - 02:22 AM

Gday John

If all you want is the remote handbox ability, i have one built into my PEC editor.

http://members.optus...om.au/johansea/

You get no planetarium etc, but it does work as a hbx

and the colours are hardcoded to black and red :-)

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • dcaponeii likes this

#17 john guy

john guy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2019

Posted 31 July 2021 - 05:45 PM

Thanks Andrew, works well and great advise. I must say this lock down has every one lost at the moment but you being south of the border are all old that

All your replies I have noticed as too Meade scopes suggest you are quite knowledgeable will this manufacture, keep safe and in good health

regards J G 




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics