•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8" Odyssey Dob with "2 inch pipe thread mount" in the focuser hole? Mirror looks good too?

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Craigar

Craigar

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lawndale, CA

Posted 24 July 2021 - 05:00 AM

I'm a newbie to "serious" astronomy so please forgive my wild guesses, and I really appreciate any help and insights. Maybe they had a camera hooked up (or were thinking about using it as a small boiler tank LOL) or some kind of a (now MIA) screw on focuser? Or someone absconded the focuser and wanted to leave it looking sort of pretty? What would be a decent middle of the road focuser to use? Coulter seems long gone out of business also.

I rigged up a few wraps of velcro around the long barlow that came with this and tried with the included "27mm Kellner-Binocular surplusr" and "Parks K12mm" eyepeices and it seems really good, I can see Jupiter pretty clear and the moon with extreme detail.

The primary mirror looks really good to me (although it was dusty) and has 2 minor imperfections in the coating (2 that are smaller than a grain of fine sand and close to the edge) - even though Coulter's docs say the coating should only last 10 years? Are their obvious ways I would be able tell if the mirror needs a recoat (other than comparing to another known good similar sized newt)

20210721_170954~2a.jpg 20210715_214653~2.jpg

Thank You All!

Attached Thumbnails

• 20210718_234849~2.jpg

Edited by Craigar, 24 July 2021 - 07:01 AM.

• Bomber Bob and Sincos like this

#2 Craigar

Craigar

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 July 2021 - 05:19 AM