•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Vixen Portamount ll or something else

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Drew56

Drew56

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: Hartford, Connecticut

Posted 24 July 2021 - 06:34 AM

I just received my Portamount. I purchased as a grab n go with a weight limit to ok to use my Megrez 90.
From my question you can tell I’m pretty new at this. Without setting circles, how do I locate objects? I am considering installing encoders and Nexus or maybe exchanging for a different mount such as AZ-GTI.
If I do keep the Portamount, how can I use it without installing encoders? I have searched for setting circles templates for the mount but no luck.
  • teashea likes this

#2 Robindonne

Robindonne

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 24 July 2021 - 07:51 AM

these mounts let you move freely without too many pre-settings. Unfold the tripod, position the telescope approximately in the right direction and then adjust it constantly with the 2 knobs. each mount can in principle be equipped with encoders. The question is whether you really want to do that. Suitable alt-az mounts are available that are more focused on the ability to search and track. Just google "goto alt-az mount" or “tracking alt-az mount”. your mount is for convenience without electronics. within 30 seconds it is usable, where a goto mount is certainly a few minutes and many actions more work.

Edit: i forgot to mention that ive seen some users of manual alt-az mounts, like yours, use their phone to find the way through the sky. They have mounted their phone to their telescope or saddle or something else that will constant point in-and follow the direction of the scope. Skysafari is such an app that help you find objects when the phone is aimed at the sky. Final manual adjustments will always be needed to get the object in your eyepiece.