•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

After 2 years with a telescope what have I learned?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 OIC

OIC

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Suburbs of Denver, USA

Posted 24 July 2021 - 04:48 PM

After my first year I thought I was an experienced Noob. Now after two years I know I was not. Even now there is so much more to learn. It's a good things I enjoy learning. I've learned that the color of a star can tell you what the electrons in the hydrogen atoms are doing. I've learned that the spectrum of the light from a star can tell us about the magnetic fields (among many other things.) I've also learned that some of the most enjoyable times are when I just look through my scope without any thoughts.

Who else has put in two years? What have you learned and what is the most fun for you?

• Jon Isaacs, dave253, Jarnett51 and 8 others like this

#2 Supernova74

Supernova74

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 24 July 2021 - 05:51 PM

After my first year I thought I was an experienced Noob. Now after two years I know I was not. Even now there is so much more to learn. It's a good things I enjoy learning. I've learned that the color of a star can tell you what the electrons in the hydrogen atoms are doing. I've learned that the spectrum of the light from a star can tell us about the magnetic fields (among many other things.) I've also learned that some of the most enjoyable times are when I just look through my scope without any thoughts.

Who else has put in two years? What have you learned and what is the most fun for you?