•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Differences between 10 and 12"

• Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 Pitu

Pitu

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 July 2021 - 08:02 PM

Hi guys.
I'm relatively new in astronomy and whatever I write might not make sense.
I owned two Meade lightbridge 10" and month ago I bought same Meade lightbridge 12"
Almost month I'm trying to see the difference comparing side by side looking in same object,same eyepieces but I can't see much difference between 2 telescope except when I have to take them out of my basement knowing that 12"it is lot more Heavier.
Object observed are
Ring Nebula, Dumbell Nebula, some of M clusters, Saturn and Jupiter. And of course Moon.
I live in Toronto so my "observatory" lol it is my backyard.
Also have light Shroud on both telescopes.
So my questions are:
1. I can't see the difference because I'm beginner or not much difference?
2. How much worth to keep 12"and Carry that heay telescope every time out from the basement?
Thanks for reading my post.
Cheers 🍻

#2 wrvond

wrvond

Gemini

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 24 July 2021 - 08:16 PM

There is a difference, but not a huge one. Once upon a time, 10" reflectors were considered "big" telescopes. Now, 12" reflectors are considered the entry level into "big" telescope territory. A 12" can reveal more DSOs than a 10", but there are so many DSO's to see you could go a lifetime and never miss the difference in targets available.

• psandelle, dragonstar4565, ram812 and 3 others like this

#3 kfiscus

kfiscus

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Albert Lea, MN, USA

Posted 24 July 2021 - 08:16 PM