•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What Is This Collimation Tool Called?

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Orion68

Orion68

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 24 July 2021 - 09:41 PM

Since acquiring a 6" F5 Newt a few months back I've learned a few things about collimation thanks to the instructions provided by Vic, Don, Asbytec and others on CN. Thanks to them I now have a well-collimated scope which is a joy to use.

I'm still a newbie though and this will prove it. The collimation tool I used is shown here but I have no idea if this is a sight tube, a Cheshire, or something else.

It is quite old and I can't remember where I got it.

It fits in a 1.25" focuser and the ring on the bottom is reflective so it's easy to see when being used. There are no crosshairs in this device.

What is this thing actually called?

IMG 20210724 192725692
IMG 20210724 192733799
IMG 20210724 192714764

#2 AhBok

AhBok

Gemini

• Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 24 July 2021 - 10:41 PM

Appears to be a Cheshire to me with the ring on the inside surface, et., al.
  • ShaulaB, Orion68 and Kipper-Feet like this

#3 macdonjh

macdonjh

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 24 July 2021 - 10:45 PM

It's a collimation cap.

+1

• Orion68, telesonic and belliott4488 like this

#4 Keith Rivich

Keith Rivich

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Cypress, Tx

Posted 24 July 2021 - 11:04 PM

We used to call these "auto-collimators". Inside the barrel is a mirror which, when placed in the focuser, creates a closed optical path if secondary is properly collimated. These are typically used in daylight. Looking into the device one should see the mirror in the cap as a dark ring. If the ring is bright the secondary is off a bit. 

• DuncanM and Orion68 like this

#5 telesonic

telesonic

Viking 1

• Loc: SW Idaho

Posted 25 July 2021 - 12:08 AM