•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My first ever Jupiter and Saturn (23 July 2021)

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sualocin

Sualocin

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Italy

Posted 26 July 2021 - 12:28 PM

Hi folks,

I don't usally post pictures on CN because I am a very beginner, and It already takes me a lot of time to set up everything, capture and process images; moreover, I am doing more EAA than Hi-res. Anyway, three nights ago I tried for the first time my new planetary imaging setup, consisting of an ASI 290MM, an Explore Scientific Focal Extender (2X), a ZWO EFW and the Baader RGB filters (I didn't use the Luminance filter). So, these are my very first images of Jupiter and Saturn, taken on 23 July from a pretty dark location on a high hill in Sicily.

I've surely made a lot of mistakes, but I must confess that I'm not unhappy with the results! I used Firecapture, then processed the three .ser videos with AS!, improved each channel separately with Registax, and finally composed the RGB images in GIMP.

Regarding exposure and gain, I set 33,3 msec. with 170-180 gain for Jupiter, and 100-130 ms and 230-260 gain for Saturn. What do you think about that? Maybe the gain for Saturn was a bit too high, the image looks noisy (and I probably failed to perfectly align the three channels in GIMP...).

I'm totally open to criticism, advices, and any other kind of comment. Tonight I'm setting up everything again, even if there's a bit of saharan dust in the sky, brought by the wind.

Attached Thumbnails

• Primo Giove -3.jpeg
  • Saturn RGB.jpeg

• TorstenEdelmann, Sunspot, Magellanico and 33 others like this

#2 Supernova74

Supernova74

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 26 July 2021 - 12:49 PM

that’s very impressive well done.

• Sualocin likes this

#3 KiwiRay

KiwiRay